I have some projects in Spitfire that are no longer active. How can I mark them as inactive? Also, will I be able to access those inactive projects in the future, if necessary?
When you change the status of a Project Setup document to either Completed or Canceled, you effectively make the corresponding project “inactive”. However, you are still able to access the dashboard and documents/files of an inactive, closed project.
- When a project is completed or canceled, change the status on the Project Setup document to close both the Project Setup document and its corresponding project:
- A closed status on the Project Setup document will make the Project Setup read-only and will also:
- Prevent budget revisions and other financial changes to the project;
- Prevent the project from showing up in auto-complete fields and filters;
- Prevent the project from showing up in the Project List on the Home Dashboard.
- If the DocTypeConfig | PreventCreate:projectstatus rule is configured for the Canceled and/or Completed status, such a status on the Project Setup will prevent the creation of new documents of the indicated Doc type. By default, new documents may be created on a closed/inactive project.
- Documents and files on a closed/inactive project will show up on search results and are not automatically closed when the project is closed.
If at some point you want to access the Project Dashboard of a closed project:
- Click the + Tab.
- Type the ID of the project completely. You will be able to open the Project Dashboard as usual.
- If you want or need to use the lookup instead,
- Check All Filters.
- Change the Is Open filter to No.
- Select your closed project.
- Click the Refresh button.