Exclusive Update Rights

This entry is part 9 of 22 in the series Focus Guide - Document and Item Basics

Anyone with rights can open a Spitfire document, although certain tabs may be hidden depending on the user’s permission level. Proper permission is required to make changes to documents, and Spitfire prevents two users from making changes on the same document and the same time.

Assuming you have write permission to the document, you can determine if you will be able to save the document changes by the color of the save icon. For example, if the Save icon is red, you should save as soon as possible to obtain exclusive update rights.

Note: If two or more users open the same document at the same time, the first person to save the document will gain exclusive update rights. Other users will still have the document open will see the following confirmation window:
–  Click Reload Now to see the latest data on the document.
–  Click Close Document to close the document window.
–  Click Dismiss to close the confirmation window and keep the document open.

Save Icon Colors

Black Icon When you first create a Spitfire document and often when you open an existing Spitfire document, the Save icon appears black. A Black Save icon means no one has exclusive update rights to the document.
Green Icon When you save an existing document, you gain exclusive update rights to it until you close the document window to route it.
Red Icon When you have exclusive update rights, and no one else is allowed to save changes to the document.
Orange Icon If you have permission, you can extend the time you keep exclusive update rights. You can extend your exclusive update rights through the Exclusivity Options menu.

 

Exclusivity Options Menu

Exclusive until route due date Select this option if you want to keep the document exclusive until the route due date or until the document is routed, whichever comes first. If there is no route due date, the document due date will be used.
Exclusive for 24 hours Select this option if you want to keep the document exclusive to you for 24 hours., or until the document is routed, whichever comes first.
Keep exclusive Select this option if you want to keep the document exclusive to you for 60 days or until the document is routed, whichever comes first.
Release exclusivity Select this option to release the document’s exclusivity regardless of how it was made exclusive.
Series Navigation<< Copying DocumentsDocument’s Items Tab >>