Copying, Limiting, and Deleting Contact Roles

This entry is part 10 of 25 in the series Setup Guide - Contacts

To copy a role:

  1. Access the Member Of tab on Contact Detail record.
  2. Click Copy This Role from the name line as the role you want to copy.
  3. Edit the copied role and change the condition in the fields that appear.
  4. Click Collapse/Update this role.
  5. Click Save. The new condition for the role will appear.

About “Limit By Project”
If you lookup a specific Project ID, the Contract will have the role’s capabilities on that one project only, even if the Contact is added to other project items. However if the Contact is not already on a project team, indicating the Project ID here will automatically place the Contact on that project’s team list.

If you leave the field as unassigned, which is the default, the Contact will be given the role’s capabilities on all projects to which the Contact is added as a team member, but not for other projects. This allows you to set up roles for Contacts before you have projects to assign to them.

If you blank out the field, the Contact will have the role’s capabilities on all projects (global), whether a project team member or not. However, the Contact will not be on any project team unless specifically added to a project.

To limit a role: 

  1. Access the Member Of tab on Contact Detail record.
  2. Click Select this role.
  3. Enter or look up a project, document type, or reference, depending on how the role was configured.
  4. Save your changes. If the role can be copied, a new icon, used to copy the role, will appear next to the role.

To delete a Contact Role:

  1. Access the Member Of tab on Contact Detail record.
  2. Click Take this role away from this user.
    Note: You cannot view or delete a role that includes capability permissions you do not have.
  3. Save your changes.

 

Series Navigation<< Assigning RolesDemoting and Promoting Roles >>